St Anne's Catholic Primary School

Please hover over the EYFS tab in the Curriculum menu to access information on our F1 and F2 curriculum.


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum

We are an Early Years Foundation Stage Unit comprising of F1 (Nursery) and F2 (Reception). We work from the Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework which sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to five years old.


The four guiding principles

There are four guiding principles in the EYFS. We believe it is important that these principles are used when implementing the seven learning and development areas in the EYFS.
The principles are: 

  1. That every child is unique
  2. That every child can learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships
  3. That children learn and develop best in enabling environments
  4. That children develop and learn in different ways


Areas of learning and development

Both F1 and F2 classes follow the EYFS curriculum, which has seven main areas of learning and development.

The Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

The Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts



The main components of each of the seven areas are: 

 Personal, Social and Emotional:

  • Self-confidence & awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour
  • Making relationships

Physical Development:

  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care

Communication and Language:

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking


  • Reading
  • Writing


  • Numbers
  • Shapes, space and measures

Understanding the World:

  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology

Expressive Arts & Design:

  • Exploring and using media and materials
  • Being imaginative